Hey, everybody, look what I did!

My first blog post!

A lot of people who know me just assumed that an opinionated person like me would have started a blog long before this, but it was not so. I was content to opine in the pages of DailyKos and sometimes other message boards. However, once I became a professional writer of science-fiction and fantasy, I realized that having a blog was a good way to publicize my work.

What work? Well, I have written a sci-fi novel called Discarded Faces, which is described on my personal webpage (www.betty-cross-author.net). Briefly, it’s a dystopian novel about a teenage girl in a tough urban setting who steals a cache of weapons and takes part in an urban guerrilla uprising. It will have a sequel, perhaps more than one. It is available for download at Double Dragon Ebooks (www.double-dragon-ebooks.com). A paperback version will be available shortly.

Anything else? Yes, I have written a fantasy novel entitled Mistress of the Topaz. The cultural background of the fantasy is mostly Arabian Nights plus Shahnameh, with a strong dash of Hellenistic Alexandria for flavor. It is a battle between two powerful women, each armed with a different psychic power, for control of their world. Double Dragon offered me a contract in April, which I immediately signed and sent back. The next step is for me to get assigned an Editor. That may take a while. More information about it is available at the link for my website (see above). When it’s published, it will be available in both ebook and paperback format. I’m working with an artist on the cover art right now. (Like a lot of small presses, Double Dragon allows authors to submit their own cover art instead of using an in-house artist.)

Well, that’s my rant for today. I hope I’ll pick up some readers for my books. At 61 years of age, I’m finally doing what I want to do, write fiction. I’ll be ranting on lots of other topics — politics, religion, language and its uses — so stay tuned.

About bettysrants

Betty Cross has published a sci-fi novel called "Discarded Faces." It is now available both as a paperback on Amazon.com and as an ebook from Double Dragon Ebooks. It’s a dystopia with a happy ending. Her second novel is a fantasy named "Mistress of the Topaz." She has signed a contract with Double Dragon for this one also. It should be available for sale by early 2012.Both will have sequels. In April 2010, after 3 decades in the computer field, she became a full-time writer of Science Fiction and Fantasy. She writes every day, and records her daily word count on a spreadsheet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

